Early Bird Special
Before November 15
$75.00
General Admission
Including Continental Breakfast and Lunch
$95.00

Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.

Live In-Person Seminar - Miami, FL

Event Info

Date Tuesday,
December 6, 2022
Location TBD

Starting Time 08:00 AM (EST)
07:00 AM (CST)
06:00 AM (MST)
05:00 AM (PST)
04:00 AM (AKDT)
02:00 AM (HST)
Program End 03:15 PM (EST)
2:15 PM (CST)
1:15 PM (MST)
12:15 PM (PST)
11:15 AM (AKDT)
09:15 AM (HST)
Credits Earned

5  AIA HSW
1  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
1  AIBC Core LU
1  AAA Structured LU
5  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA
2  Advanced FBC

Day Program*

08:00 AM

Welcome, certificate & credit reporting instructions

08:10 AM

Course to be announced

08:10 AM - 09:10 AM

09:10 AM

Rigid Insulation Product Knowledge & Uses

09:10 AM - 10:10 AM

This course will review an in-depth breakdown of the current uses of rigid insulation in the construction industry. The attendees will learn more about the differences of rigid insulation products and the recommended uses of each product type. Discussion points to include the changes of the current energy codes and the requirements for the use of continuous insulation in the majority of future projects. The participant will be able to better evaluate their current building assemblies and understand the requirements that are dictated by current codes.

  • AIA HSW # OXAIA401 | USGBC # 920011917
  • Provider: Ox Engineered Products
  • Presenter: Lee Bybee
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
10:10 AM

Break

10:20 AM

Guide to Home Elevators

10:20 AM - 11:20 AM

Overview of home elevators including: Possible applications and potential end users, common features as well as the four main types of drive systems, site requirements and codes and regulations.

  • AIA HSW # AIASAV101-2019
  • Provider: Savaria
  • Presenter: Kyle Filer
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
11:20 AM

Revolution in Solutions for Concrete Cure, Finish, Flatness and Moisture Control

11:20 AM - 12:20 PM

This program explores the many uses of integrally troweled cure products to solve practical and common problems frequently occurring in buildings, roads and specialized industrial and municipal complexes. Such as moisture damage to floor coverings, control joint curling, delamination and abrasion resistance.

  • AIA HSW # GURevCon
  • Provider: Green Umbrella
  • Presenter: Thomas Hollis
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
12:20 PM

Lunch

01:10 PM

2 Hours FLORIDA ADVANCED CODE COURSE: “How the 2020 (7th Ed) FL Building Code and ASTM Standards Make Stucco Work in Florida”

01:10 PM - 03:10 PM

This course takes a deep dive into the specific IBC/IRC and Florida Building Code regarding proper design and application of Exterior Stucco. It first reviews and explains the ASTM C926 and C1063 standards that are the basis of the stucco and lath application standards in the code. It highlights the specific climatic concerns of the warm/humid Florida environment and teaches the proper design for building envelope water management using the ASTM E331 water resistance test listed in the building code. Then using a specific example, the course details and explains the methodology of calculating and designing a wood framed exterior stucco assembly for the proper wind resistance necessary for the Florida hurricane prone climate using ASCE 07 and the ASTM E330 structural wind resistance test in the building code. The course lays out the proper fastening needs for the wind loads and the proper use of sealed face barrier systems to mitigate the water intrusion. Finally, the course suggests options for warranting the envelope and providing a long-term maintenance schedule.

  • AIA HSW # UGL 0821
  • Provider: UGL – United Gilsonite Laboratories, Inc
  • Presenter: Harry J. Lubitz
  • Credits: 2 AIA HSW, 2 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA, 2 Advanced FBC,
03:10 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.