Live In-Person Seminar - Mixed-Topics - Chicago /Oakbrook, IL


Early Bird Special
Until February 14th
$30.00
General Admission
Includes Full Day Seminar
$60.00

Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.

Live In-Person Seminar - Mixed-Topics - Chicago /Oakbrook, IL

Event Info

Date Tuesday,
March 7, 2023
Location Maggiano's Little Italy - Chicago Oak Brook Terrasse
View on Map

Starting Time 08:45 AM (EST)
07:45 AM (CST)
06:45 AM (MST)
05:45 AM (PST)
04:45 AM (AKDT)
02:45 AM (HST)
Program End 6:30 PM (EST)
05:30 PM (CST)
4:30 PM (MST)
3:30 PM (PST)
2:30 PM (AKDT)
12:30 PM (HST)
Credits Earned

5  AIA HSW
1  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
3  AIBC Core LU
3  AAA Structured LU
5  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA

Day Program*

07:45 AM

Registration & Continental Breakfast

08:00 AM

Western Red Cedar, Distinctive Sustainable Design

08:00 AM - 09:00 AM

The Western Red Cedar Lumber Association (WRCLA) is a Non-Profit trade association that was established in 1954. We offer training to discerning users of WRC including the architect community. Western Red Cedar Distinctive Sustainable Designs is a one-hour, face-to-face training session developed for the architect community and provided by WRCLA qualified trainers. Through this one hour session, architects will increase their knowledge of WRC; its' properties and performance characteristics.

  • AIA HSW # WRCLA5 | GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC) # 920021295
  • Provider: Western Red Cedar Lumber Assn
  • Presenter: Paul Mackie
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
09:00 AM

Compatibility and Adhesion Problems Between Sealants and Substrates

09:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Sealants are key in the occupant comfort and health by preventing air, mold, and moisture to penetrate the building. In this course, participants will learn what can result from incompatibility and adhesion problems between various sealants in contact with different substrates.

  • AIA HSW # AdfSubstrate21
  • Provider: Adfast
  • Presenter: Dan Garnett
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
10:00 AM

Break

10:10 AM

Sponsor

10:20 AM

Coating of Aluminum Extrusions

10:20 AM - 11:20 AM

Provides an overview of aluminum extrusion coatings and includes discussions on the aluminum extrusion process; a comparison of powder and liquid coatings; an overview of the chrome and the chrome-free pretreatment processes; and, the performance objectives of AAMA testing standards.

  • AIA HSW # AG1012020
  • Provider: Barrette Outdoor Living Inc.
  • Presenter: Taylor Coley
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
11:20 AM

Understanding Stone Wool Insulation for Interior and Exterior Commercial Building Applications

11:20 AM - 12:20 PM

The course identifies what stone wool insulation is and how it is produced. It will discuss commercial applications of stone wool insulation as well as the key benefits of this insulating material when used in the field versus some of the other insulating materials traditionally used in the North American market today.

  • AIA HSW # RWNA221001
  • Provider: Rockwool
  • Presenter: Denise Alvera
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
12:20 PM

Lunch

01:10 PM

Durable Timber: Designing for Life Cycle Impact

01:10 PM - 02:10 PM

TBC

  • AIA HSW # TBC
  • Provider: QWEB (Quebec Wood Export Bureau)
  • Eli Gould Presenter
    Eli graduated with one of the first dual Architecture/Forestry degrees from Yale in the early ‘90s, with a conviction that the two fields would eventually be more linked. After a quarter century, this seems more true and even mainstream, but for many years it was an entrepreneurial effort in the small vertical wood prefab companies he ran in Vermont, and in the automated timber industry where he often consulted. For the last three years, Eli has brought those experiences into a nonprofit market development role for QWEB. When he’s not trying to transform the AEC industry into a positive climate force he enjoys small town and organic farm life in Vermont with his family.
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
02:10 PM

Course to be announced

02:10 PM - 03:10 PM

03:10 PM

Break

03:20 PM

Sponsor

03:30 PM

Course to be announced

03:30 PM - 04:30 PM

04:30 PM

Course to be announced

04:30 PM - 05:30 PM

05:30 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.


Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.