FREE Live Interactive Webcast - Building Envelope Design Solutions - Central Time Zone


General Admission
Includes Full Day Seminar
FREE

Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.

FREE Live Interactive Webcast - Building Envelope Design Solutions - Central Time Zone

Event Info

Date Wednesday,
February 8, 2023
Location Online Webcast

Starting Time 09:00 AM (EST)
08:00 AM (CST)
07:00 AM (MST)
06:00 AM (PST)
05:00 AM (AKDT)
03:00 AM (HST)
Program End 4:05 PM (EST)
03:05 PM (CST)
2:05 PM (MST)
1:05 PM (PST)
12:05 PM (AKDT)
10:05 AM (HST)
Credits Earned

3  AIA HSW
3  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
3  AIBC Core LU
3  AAA Structured LU
1  AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP)
3  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA

Day Program*

08:00 AM

Welcome, Credits, and Certificates

08:05 AM

Understanding Advanced Wall Systems with Continuous Insulation

08:05 AM - 09:05 AM

This session explores evolving trends in building enclosure technology, and subsequent changes in energy efficient building design; with especial focus on the role of continuous exterior insulation (CI). The net energy savings realized in a properly insulated building are by now well understood, and these savings are increasingly being required by stringent local building and energy codes. Current building science research and field monitoring data will be presented, to demonstrate how the effective R value of various insulating materials perform and change in differing regional climates, temperature ranges, and seasonal conditions. Strategies for designing and constructing highly insulated and cost effective wall assemblies while still minimizing thermal bridging are also discussed.

  • AIA HSW # RWNA202 | GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC) # 920023529
  • Provider: Rockwool
  • Presenter: Denise Alvera
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
09:05 AM

Review of Session Code Process

09:10 AM

Sustainable Exterior Envelope

09:10 AM - 10:10 AM

This course focus on the effect biological and physical agents have on the wood substrate of the exterior building envelope. After reviewing these agents you will learn how proper installation and best building practices can limit the exposure these agents can pose to your project. Durable wood substrates will also be discussed with a comparison of popular man made durability agents used to further protect the exterior envelope.

  • AIA HSW # ExtEnv2020 | GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC) # 920026001
  • Provider: WindsorONE
  • Presenter: Dave Rogers
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
10:10 AM

Break

10:20 AM

Sponsor

10:30 AM

Wood Glazed Facades in Net-Zero and Passive Buildings

10:30 AM - 11:30 AM

Architects and LEED professionals understand the numerous benefits of building with wood. But, many are unaware of its application in a timber curtain wall (TCW). Today’s technology provides opportunities to incorporate the beauty and energy-efficiency of wood into glazed facades that not only bring the outdoors in but also serve as the building’s heavy lifter. 

This course will present the differences between a conventional curtain wall and a timber curtain wall (TCW) including load-bearing and non-load-bearing capabilities as well as net-zero and passive building. We will also show example of projects using TWC.

  • AIA HSW # IC2tech2020 | GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC) # 920019926
  • Provider: Unicel Architectural Corp
  • Presenter: Luc Paquet
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
11:30 AM

Course to be announced

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

12:30 PM

Lunch

01:00 PM

Course

01:00 PM - 02:00 PM

02:00 PM

Course

02:00 PM - 03:00 PM

03:00 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.


Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.