General Admission
Includes Full Day Seminar
FREE

Additional Information

[email protected]

FREE Live Interactive Webcast - Building Green: Products that Support Sustainable Design - Central Time Zone

Event Info

Date Wednesday,
February 16, 2022
Location TBD

Starting Time 09:00 AM (EST)
08:00 AM (CST)
07:00 AM (MST)
06:00 AM (PST)
05:00 AM (AKST)
04:00 AM (HST)
Program End 04:21 PM (EST)
03:21 PM (CST)
02:21 PM (MST)
01:21 PM (PST)
12:21 PM (AKST)
11:21 AM (HST)
Credits Earned

6  AIA HSW
5  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
5  AIBC Core LU
5  AAA Structured LU
5  AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP)
6  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA

Day Program*

08:00 AM

Welcome, certificate & credit reporting instructions

08:05 AM

Acetylated Wood: Discover the Difference for Siding, Decking, and More

08:05 AM - 09:05 AM

This course discusses the process of wood acetylation, the resulting changes to wood, applications for acetylated wood, its green credentials and a number of case studies involving acetylated wood.

  • AIA HSW # Accoya2020 | USGBC # 920022858
  • Provider: Accsys
  • Presenter: Tim Svarczkopf
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
09:05 AM

Review of Session Code Process

09:05 AM - 09:10 AM

09:10 AM

Making Sense of Sealants

09:10 AM - 10:10 AM

Participants will learn about the different families of sealants and how to choose the correct product for each application. We will discuss the effect of UV light on sealants and the difference between structural or non structural silicon sealant. And finally, the importance of surface preparation before sealing joints.

  • AIA HSW # AdfSealant2020 | USGBC # 0920010342
  • Provider: Adfast
  • Presenter: Matt Klinge
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
10:10 AM

Break

10:20 AM

Sponsor

10:30 AM

Specifications Strategies to Eliminate Concrete Moisture

10:30 AM - 11:30 AM

In many projects, installation of floor finishes is one of the items to occur prior to substantial completion.  However, 09 flooring specification sections require moisture testing before flooring can be installed on concrete slabs.  When those moisture tests fail, the project faces time delays, unexpected costs, or both.  During this presentation, we will:  (1) give significant discussion to the importance of design intent and how losing focus on what the owner expects can lead to catastrophic, consequences (2) examine several misconceptions associated with field moisture testing and project owner and design team liablility associated with concrete moisture induces flooring failure; and (3) we will give clear recommendations as to how the specifying professional can eliminate concrete moisture as a project delivery issue while simultaneously protecting the project owner and design team from project delivery delays/cost overruns and future failed flooring.

  • AIA HSW # ISL03H
  • Provider: ISE Logik Industries, Inc.
  • Presenter: Bill Roper
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
11:30 AM

Wood Glazed Facades in Net-Zero and Passive Buildings

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Architects and LEED professionals understand the numerous benefits of building with wood. But, many are unaware of its application in a timber curtain wall (TCW). Today’s technology provides opportunities to incorporate the beauty and energy-efficiency of wood into glazed facades that not only bring the outdoors in but also serve as the building’s heavy lifter. 

This course will present the differences between a conventional curtain wall and a timber curtain wall (TCW) including load-bearing and non-load-bearing capabilities as well as net-zero and passive building. We will also show example of projects using TWC.

  • AIA HSW # IC2tech2020 | USGBC # 0920019926
  • Provider: Unicel Architectural Corp
  • Presenter: Jason Forster
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
12:30 PM

Lunch

01:10 PM

Sponsor

01:20 PM

Understanding Advanced Wall Systems with Continuous Insulation

01:20 PM - 02:20 PM

This session explores evolving trends in building enclosure technology, and subsequent changes in energy efficient building design; with especial focus on the role of continuous exterior insulation (CI). The net energy savings realized in a properly insulated building are by now well understood, and these savings are increasingly being required by stringent local building and energy codes. Current building science research and field monitoring data will be presented, to demonstrate how the effective R value of various insulating materials perform and change in differing regional climates, temperature ranges, and seasonal conditions. Strategies for designing and constructing highly insulated and cost effective wall assemblies while still minimizing thermal bridging are also discussed.

  • AIA HSW # RWNA202 | USGBC # 920007632
  • Provider: Rockwool
  • Presenter: Denise Alvera
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
02:20 PM

Protecting the Built Environment from Formosan Termites

02:20 PM - 03:20 PM

Many architects, engineers, and builders don’t consider the threat of Formosan termites. They therefore leave the building owner and future occupants with the ongoing task of using chemical pesticides and/or repairing significant damage.   Do you build in the termite zone? Domestic subterranean termites exist throughout the mainland.  Now much of the United States is susceptible to Formosan termite infestation, which has been expanding since 1975. Any new build within this termite zone should incorporate the steps to provide long-term protection against Formosan and native American subterranean termites.   This course will describe the Formosan termite and the damage it can cause. We’ll review the preventative but long-term processes that many building owners take to prevent infestation. Most importantly, this course will outline the standard and enhanced processes, implemented at building construction, that protect the structure.

  • AIA HSW # TermiteProtect | USGBC # 0920024976
  • Provider: Polyguard Barrier Systems
  • Presenter: Jill Heidorf
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
03:20 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.