FREE Admission
Includes Full Day Seminar
FREE

Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.

FREE Live Interactive Webcast - Acoustic and Sound Control Design Solutions

Event Info

Date Tuesday,
June 22, 2021
Location Online Webcast

Starting Time 11:00 AM (EST)
10:00 AM (CST)
09:00 AM (MST)
08:00 AM (PST)
07:00 AM (AKDT)
05:00 AM (HST)
Program End 3:50 PM (EST)
2:50 PM (CST)
1:50 PM (MST)
12:50 PM (PST)
11:50 AM (AKDT)
09:50 AM (HST)
Credits Earned

4.5  AIA HSW
2  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
1  AIBC Core LU
1  AAA Structured LU
3  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA

Day Program*

08:00 AM

Welcome, certificate & credit reporting instructions

08:10 AM

21st Century 3D Acoustics 1.5hrs

08:10 AM - 09:40 AM

This course discusses the difference between NRC and STC as well as absorption, diffusion, and reflection and how it relates to echo and reverberation and speech intelligibility in architectural spaces and the importance of using the 3D design concept to maximize the acoustical performance of their room.

  • AIA HSW # Acoustic3D002
  • Provider: Perdue Acoustics
  • Presenter: Jay Perdue
  • Credits: 1.5 AIA HSW,
09:40 AM

More than just an R-value – Acoustics in commercial buildings

09:40 AM - 10:40 AM

Stone wool is often specified for its superior properties such as energy efficiency, sustainability, fire protection, water resistance and sound control. Commercial stone wool products can help to protect property, extend building life cycles and enhance occupant comfort, and are designed to make construction faster and easier. This course will identify what stone wool insulation is and how it is produced and will discuss some introductory terminology and concepts as they relate to sound and acoustics in the building envelope. We will examine current codes and standards provisions for acoustics and finally, we will discuss some techniques and considerations that can be made when design systems for the interior and exterior of the building envelope.

  • AIA HSW # RWNA918_01 | USGBC # 920024243
  • Provider: Rockwool
  • Presenter: Pamela Sadler
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
10:40 AM

Break

10:50 AM

Acoustic Door Assemblies and Their Role in Sound Control

10:50 AM - 11:50 AM

Sound control is a critical element to a building’s design. How an occupant will use the space must be understood in order to deliver a healthy and functional environment free of noise. Is speech privacy important? Is this a learning environment? Does the office open to a manufacturing floor? We all think of the walls, ceiling, and floor when discussing sound attenuation. But we must not overlook the importance of an acoustic-door assembly. Without the proper acoustic door, the sound-control goals in an acoustic plan may not be met. This course will review healthy sound levels and how to test and identify target STC ratings. We’ll discuss the elements of the acoustic-door assembly and how the assembly addresses fire-ratings and ADA compliance, contributes to LEED certification and green building, and provides security for classified files and electronic data.

  • AIA HSW # AAD001 | USGBC # 920024242
  • Provider: Ambico Ltd.
  • Presenter: Steve Peterman
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
11:50 AM

Architectural Acoustics

11:50 AM - 12:50 PM

Architectural acoustics are a key design consideration for every high-performing building. This course will cover the following topics:
Sound basics, Noise control strategies, Transmission, Absorption & Applications

  • AIA HSW # 0200-2019
  • Provider: Johns Manville
  • Jeffrey Job Presenter
    Jeff has over fifteen years of experience consulting with AEC professionals in various capacities including project management, scope/specification analysis, and product development. Jeff holds master’s degrees in Business Administration and Urban Planning from the University of Colorado. In his current role, Jeff leads the specification efforts for Johns Manville's Building Insulation group.
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
12:50 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.