FREE Admission
Includes Full Day Seminar
FREE

Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.

FREE Live Interactive Webcast - Building Envelope

Event Info

Date Wednesday,
March 17, 2021
Location Online Webcast

Starting Time 10:00 AM (EST)
09:00 AM (CST)
08:00 AM (MST)
07:00 AM (PST)
06:00 AM (AKDT)
04:00 AM (HST)
Program End 2:20 PM (EST)
1:20 PM (CST)
12:20 PM (MST)
11:20 AM (PST)
10:20 AM (AKDT)
08:20 AM (HST)
Credits Earned

4  AIA HSW
2  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
4  AIBC Core LU
4  AAA Structured LU
3  AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP)
4  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA

Day Program*

08:00 AM

Welcome, certificate & credit reporting instructions

08:10 AM

Sustainable Exterior Envelope

08:10 AM - 09:10 AM

At the end of this course, participants will know how to increase the durability of wood products used on building exterior envelope, understand best installation practices and differences between popular wood treatment methods. This AIA continuing education program touches on these issues and more, helping you design an exterior envelope that is durable and healthy for the home.

  • AIA HSW # ExtEnv2020 | USGBC # 920012039
  • Provider: WindsorONE
  • Presenter: Dave Rogers
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
09:10 AM

Proactively Address Moisture in Roof Assemblies

09:10 AM - 10:10 AM

Moisture within roof assemblies, or the concern over such, has recently become a major focus of discussion for the design/build community due to project schedule delays and disruptions to businesses and institutions. Despite the disruption to projects this issue causes, there remains significant misunderstandings across the design build industry regarding product warranties, field moisture tests, and just how long it takes concrete “to dry”. During this presentation, we will discuss common terms associated with concrete that are often misused and misunderstood. Further, the various sources of roof system moisture will be identified with clear recommendations given as to how the specifying professional can proactively address these sources through the construction documents.

  • AIA HSW # ISL03G
  • Provider: ISE Logik
  • Presenter: Dean Craft
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
10:10 AM

Break

10:20 AM

Understanding Advanced Wall Systems with Continuous Insulation

10:20 AM - 11:20 AM

This session explores evolving trends in building enclosure technology, and subsequent changes in energy efficient building design; with especial focus on the role of continuous exterior insulation (CI). The net energy savings realized in a properly insulated building are by now well understood, and these savings are increasingly being required by stringent local building and energy codes. Current building science research and field monitoring data will be presented, to demonstrate how the effective R value of various insulating materials perform and change in differing regional climates, temperature ranges, and seasonal conditions. Strategies for designing and constructing highly insulated and cost effective wall assemblies while still minimizing thermal bridging are also discussed.

  • AIA HSW # RWNA202 | USGBC # 920023529
  • Provider: Rockwool
  • Presenter: Jon Ram
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
11:20 AM

Understanding Wood Aesthetic Cladding and Soffit Technologies

11:20 AM - 12:20 PM

This learning unit will provide an in-depth overview of current “wood” design technologies natural and synthetic. - Identify current market “wood aesthetic” technologies - Understand the core materials of each technology - Understand the sustainable features and Life Cycle benefits for each technology based on the following criteria: Color Retention, Maintenance & Warranty - Describe the surface burning characteristics and explain how they can be specified to achieve code compliance - Installation Details - Budgetary Information

  • AIA HSW # GL2020CS
  • Provider: Hughes & Associates
  • Presenter: Yancey Hughes
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
12:20 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.