FREE Admission
Includes Full Day Seminar
FREE

Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.

FREE Live Interactive Webcast - Building Green: Products that Support Sustainable Design

Event Info

Date Wednesday,
November 17, 2021
Location Online Webcast

Starting Time 10:00 AM (EST)
09:00 AM (CST)
08:00 AM (MST)
07:00 AM (PST)
06:00 AM (AKDT)
04:00 AM (HST)
Program End 2:31 PM (EST)
1:31 PM (CST)
12:31 PM (MST)
11:31 AM (PST)
10:31 AM (AKDT)
08:31 AM (HST)
Credits Earned

4  AIA HSW
4  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
1  IDCEC
3  AIBC Core LU
3  AAA Structured LU
1  AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP)
4  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA
1  Sustainable Design

Day Program*

08:00 AM

Welcome, certificate & credit reporting instructions

08:10 AM

Canadian Hardwoods -Beauty, Durability and Sustainability.

08:10 AM - 09:10 AM

Canadian hardwood lumber and flooring provide architects with everything they need to create beautiful, practical and durable projects and accessories, while fulfilling the need and desire to meet sustainability and green building requirements. In this presentation, we will highlight that Canadian hardwoods are the material of choice to provide durability and natural elegance, as a renewable material for commercial and high end residential projects.

  • AIA HSW # CHB0821 | USGBC # 920024882
  • Provider: Canadian Hardwood Bureau
  • Presenter: Criswell Davis
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA, 1 Sustainable Design,
09:10 AM

LEED Pilot Credit #103: Integrative Analysis of Building Materials

09:10 AM - 10:10 AM

In the materials selection process, builders seek to balance numerous product performance attributes, including durability, aesthetics and health, safety and environmental impacts. Transparency and life cycle thinking are central components of a robust materials selection process, one that enables builders to choose the most appropriate materials for their project. The U.S. Green Building Council now offers an innovative LEED pilot credit (#103), Integrative Analysis of Building Materials, to encourage building project teams to evaluate products and materials using available life cycle information to identify those that have positive environmental, health and safety impacts. The credit informs project team decisions by providing access to information shared by building materials manufacturers on their product’s life cycle impacts.

  • AIA HSW # ACC-302 | USGBC # 920001482
  • Provider: American Chemistry Council (ACC)
  • Presenter: Jack Armstrong
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
10:10 AM

Break

10:20 AM

Sponsor
Timber Block - Curtis McCurry

10:30 AM

Incorporating Sustainable Materials Into Commercial Restroom Design

10:30 AM - 11:30 AM

Learn about HDPE, it’s physical attributes, composition, design options and sustainable contributions to the design and construction of any project. We'll also discuss at why product transparency and responsible manufacturing are important considerations when specifying a sustainable product.

  • AIA HSW # ISP10K | USGBC # 920008710
  • Provider: Scranton Products
  • Presenter: John McKeon
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 IDCEC, 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
11:30 AM

Acoustic Door Assemblies and Their Role in Sound Control

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Sound control is a critical element to a building’s design. How an occupant will use the space must be understood in order to deliver a healthy and functional environment free of noise. Is speech privacy important? Is this a learning environment? Does the office open to a manufacturing floor? We all think of the walls, ceiling, and floor when discussing sound attenuation. But we must not overlook the importance of an acoustic-door assembly. Without the proper acoustic door, the sound-control goals in an acoustic plan may not be met. This course will review healthy sound levels and how to test and identify target STC ratings. We’ll discuss the elements of the acoustic-door assembly and how the assembly addresses fire-ratings and ADA compliance, contributes to LEED certification and green building, and provides security for classified files and electronic data.

  • AIA HSW # AAD001 | USGBC # 920024242
  • Provider: Ambico Ltd.
  • Presenter: Judah Silverman
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
12:30 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.