FREE Admission
Includes Full Day Seminar
FREE

Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.

FREE Live Interactive Webcast - Built to Last: Building Products & Durable Design Solutions

Event Info

Date Thursday,
December 2, 2021
Location Online Webcast

Starting Time 10:00 AM (EST)
09:00 AM (CST)
08:00 AM (MST)
07:00 AM (PST)
06:00 AM (AKDT)
04:00 AM (HST)
Program End 2:21 PM (EST)
1:21 PM (CST)
12:21 PM (MST)
11:21 AM (PST)
10:21 AM (AKDT)
08:21 AM (HST)
Credits Earned

4  AIA HSW
3  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
2  IDCEC
4  AIBC Core LU
4  AAA Structured LU
1  AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP)
4  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA
1  Sustainable Design

Day Program*

08:00 AM

Welcome, certificate & credit reporting instructions

08:10 AM

Incorporating Sustainable Materials Into Commercial Restroom Design

08:10 AM - 09:10 AM

Learn about HDPE, it’s physical attributes, composition, design options and sustainable contributions to the design and construction of any project. We'll also discuss at why product transparency and responsible manufacturing are important considerations when specifying a sustainable product.

  • AIA HSW # ISP10K | USGBC # 920008710
  • Provider: Scranton Products
  • Presenter: Tim James
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 IDCEC, 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
09:10 AM

Sustainable Exterior Envelope

09:10 AM - 10:10 AM

At the end of this course, participants will know how to increase the durability of wood products used on building exterior envelope, understand best installation practices and differences between popular wood treatment methods. This AIA continuing education program touches on these issues and more, helping you design an exterior envelope that is durable and healthy for the home.

  • AIA HSW # ExtEnv2020 | USGBC # 920012039
  • Provider: WindsorONE
  • Presenter: Devin Darnell
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
10:10 AM

Break

10:20 AM

Eliminating Concrete Moisture through Sustainable Design

10:20 AM - 11:20 AM

Few aspects of the design process are conducted in “silos” as disassociated from one another as how many projects approach interior concrete slab specifications and subsequent flooring specification sections. This is not done intentionally, rather it is by-product of lack of coordination, and fundamental misunderstanding, between those involved with the structural elements and those involved with the aesthetic and finishing elements. During this presentation, we will discuss sustainability and what it means; drawing the attendee into a clear discussion of how sustainability relates to LEED, Lean Construction, Green Building, and process improvement. Inconsistencies with current specification processes related to concrete moisture as compared to the tenets of sustainability will be exposed, with clear recommendations given as to how the specifying professional can resolve those disconnects.

  • AIA HSW # ISL03K
  • Provider: ISE Logik
  • Presenter: Dean Craft
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 IDCEC, 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
11:20 AM

Canadian Hardwoods -Beauty, Durability and Sustainability.

11:20 AM - 12:20 PM

Canadian hardwood lumber and flooring provide architects with everything they need to create beautiful, practical and durable projects and accessories, while fulfilling the need and desire to meet sustainability and green building requirements. In this presentation, we will highlight that Canadian hardwoods are the material of choice to provide durability and natural elegance, as a renewable material for commercial and high end residential projects.

  • AIA HSW # CHB0821 | USGBC # 920024882
  • Provider: Canadian Hardwood Bureau
  • Presenter: Criswell Davis
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA, 1 Sustainable Design,
12:20 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.