FREE Admission
Includes Full Day Seminar
FREE

Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.

FREE Live Interactive Webcast - Mix Topics

Event Info

Date Thursday,
March 4, 2021
Location Online Webcast

Starting Time 11:00 AM (EST)
10:00 AM (CST)
09:00 AM (MST)
08:00 AM (PST)
07:00 AM (AKDT)
05:00 AM (HST)
Program End 5:10 PM (EST)
4:10 PM (CST)
3:10 PM (MST)
02:10 PM (PST)
1:10 PM (AKDT)
11:10 AM (HST)
Credits Earned

5  AIA HSW
3  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
1  IDCEC
3  AIBC Core LU
3  AAA Structured LU
1  AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP)
5  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA

Day Program*

08:00 AM

Welcome, certificate & credit reporting instructions

08:10 AM

Reviving the Lost Art of Moldings

08:10 AM - 09:10 AM

This course examines historic moldings to appreciate the genius behind their design and application. It will explore the reality of modern wood resources and the direct relationship with Today's manufacturing process, as well as the use of historic moldings in Today's real world applications.

  • AIA HSW # LostArt2020HSW | USGBC # 920011023
  • Provider: WindsorONE
  • Presenter: Dave Rogers
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
09:10 AM

Eliminating Concrete Moisture through Sustainable Design

09:10 AM - 10:10 AM

Few aspects of the design process are conducted in “silos” as disassociated from one another as how many projects approach interior concrete slab specifications and subsequent flooring specification sections. This is not done intentionally, rather it is by-product of lack of coordination, and fundamental misunderstanding, between those involved with the structural elements and those involved with the aesthetic and finishing elements. During this presentation, we will discuss sustainability and what it means; drawing the attendee into a clear discussion of how sustainability relates to LEED, Lean Construction, Green Building, and process improvement. Inconsistencies with current specification processes related to concrete moisture as compared to the tenets of sustainability will be exposed, with clear recommendations given as to how the specifying professional can resolve those disconnects.

  • AIA HSW # ISL03K
  • Provider: ISE Logik
  • Presenter: Dean Craft
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 IDCEC, 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
10:10 AM

Break

10:30 AM

Western Red Cedar, Distinctive Sustainable Design

10:30 AM - 11:30 AM

The Western Red Cedar Lumber Association (WRCLA) is a Non-Profit trade association that was established in 1954. We offer training to discerning users of WRC including the architect community. Western Red Cedar Distinctive Sustainable Designs is a one-hour, face-to-face training session developed for the architect community and provided by WRCLA qualified trainers. Through this one hour session, architects will increase their knowledge of WRC; its' properties and performance characteristics.

  • AIA HSW # WRCLA 4 | USGBC # 920021295
  • Provider: Western Red Cedar Lumber Assn
  • Presenter: Jay Poppe
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
11:30 AM

Lunch

12:10 PM

Sound Control In Construction

12:10 PM - 01:10 PM

In this one-hour course, design professionals will gain practical knowledge of sound control and the many healthy and safety benefits it has for architects, builders, and occupants. It will discuss building code criteria and guidelines, including strategies to meet these requirements through various methods. By the end of this course, design professionals will be able to evaluate different sound control strategies and specify ones that best fit each project’s needs.

  • AIA HSW # soundatten21 | USGBC # 920007666
  • Provider: Homasote Company
  • Presenter: Marcus Ward
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
01:10 PM

Vegetated Roofing Systems

01:10 PM - 02:10 PM

Vegetated roofing systems provide many benefits to the man-made built environment. This presentation will explain these benefits while exploring the different design considerations, components, and guidelines that need to be followed for a successful installation that will perform as intended.

  • AIA HSW # GR101-CST
  • Provider: Carlisle Construction Material
  • Presenter: Chris Kann
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
02:10 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.