Free Live Interactive Webcast - Mix Topics - Central Time Zone - FALL


General Admission
Includes Full Day Seminar
FREE

Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.

Free Live Interactive Webcast - Mix Topics - Central Time Zone - FALL

Event Info

Date Tuesday,
December 12, 2023
Location Online Webcast

Starting Time 09:00 AM (EST)
08:00 AM (CST)
07:00 AM (MST)
06:00 AM (PST)
05:00 AM (AKST)
03:00 AM (HST)
Program End 04:05 PM (EST)
03:05 PM (CST)
02:05 PM (MST)
01:05 PM (PST)
12:05 PM (AKST)
10:05 AM (HST)
Credits Earned

6  AIA HSW
4  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
5  AIBC Core LU
5  AAA Structured LU
6  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA
1  Sustainable Design
6  AIBD Primary

Day Program*

08:00 AM

Welcome, Credits, and Certificates

08:05 AM

Acetylated Wood: Discover the Difference for Siding, Decking, and More

08:05 AM - 09:05 AM

This course discusses the process of wood acetylation, the resulting changes to wood, applications for acetylated wood, its green credentials and a number of case studies involving acetylated wood.

  • AIA HSW # Accoya2023 | GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC) # 920022858
  • Provider: Accsys Technology - Titan Wood Inc.
  • Douglas Gillikin Presenter
    Doug has over 20 years in millwork manufacturing, national account sales and project management. Having been on all sides of the process, he understands the challenges faced beginning with inspiration, design to installation.
  • Course Number: Accoya2023
    Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA, 1 Sustainable Design, 1 AIBD Primary,
09:05 AM

Review of Session Code Process

09:10 AM

Sustainable Exterior Envelope

09:10 AM - 10:10 AM

This course focuses on the effect biological and physical agents have on the wood substrate of the exterior building envelope. After reviewing these agents, you will learn how proper installation and best building practices can limit the exposure these agents can pose to your project. Durable wood substrates will also be discussed with a comparison of popular man-made durability agents used to further protect the exterior envelope.

  • AIA HSW # ExtEnvelope23 | GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC) # 920026001
  • Provider: WindsorONE
  • Presenter: Scott Green
  • Course Number: ExtEnvelope23
    Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA, 1 AIBD Primary,
10:10 AM

Break

10:25 AM

Sponsor
Lincora - Ben Desjardins

10:40 AM

How It’s Made: Today’s PVC

10:40 AM - 11:40 AM

PVC products have been around for 100 years. They’re common in the construction industry because of their durability and long life. But old PVC manufacturing practices still cause concern for some of today’s specifiers. This course will address those concerns head-on. We’ll talk about today’s manufacturing processes and how recycling is transforming the industry. You’ll see how PVC resin becomes a strong and beautiful product using the example of vinyl fencing. With the understanding of today’s regulations, collaboration, and green-building practices, you’ll have the confidence to specify today’s PVC products.

  • AIA HSW # HIMPVC0523 | GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC) # 920028037
  • Provider: Barrette Outdoor Living Inc.
  • Presenter: Taylor Coley
  • Course Number: HIMPVC0523
    Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA, 1 AIBD Primary,
11:40 AM

Western Red Cedar, Distinctive Sustainable Design

11:40 AM - 12:40 PM

The Western Red Cedar Lumber Association (WRCLA) is a Non-Profit trade association that was established in 1954. We offer training to discerning users of WRC including the architect community. Western Red Cedar Distinctive Sustainable Designs is a one-hour, face-to-face training session developed for the architect community and provided by WRCLA qualified trainers. Through this one hour session, architects will increase their knowledge of WRC; its' properties and performance characteristics.

  • AIA HSW # WRCLA5 | GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC) # 920027450
  • Provider: Western Red Cedar Lumber Assn (WRCLA)
  • Presenter: Jay Poppe
  • Course Number: WRCLA5
    Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA, 1 AIBD Primary,
12:40 PM

Break

01:00 PM

Prefabricated Ornamental Railing Systems

01:00 PM - 02:00 PM

This course is designed to teach the attendee the differences between custom ornamental railing systems fabricated locally versus those fabricated 100% offsite.

  • AIA HSW # K1608D
  • Provider: AGS Stainless Inc.
  • Presenter: Joel Weston
  • Course Number: K1608D
    Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA, 1 AIBD Primary,
02:00 PM

Challenges & Solutions for Today’s Ceramic Tile and Stone Installations

02:00 PM - 03:00 PM

Ceramic and stone tiles are beautiful and durable surface coverings, but today’s construction environment presents a variety of unique installation challenges.  This NON-PROPRIETARY Seminar will look at the history of tile installation and address both traditional methods and new technology. Topics that will be covered will include tile membrane advancements, movement accommodation, and controversial issues such as mold and questionable shower assemblies. TCA Handbook details will be discussed. 

  • AIA HSW # SCHL8A
  • Provider: Schluter Systems
  • Presenter: Paula Tridle
  • Course Number: SCHL8A
    Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA, 1 AIBD Primary,
03:00 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.


Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.