FREE Live Interactive Webcast - Moisture Prevention Design Solutions - Eastern Time Zone


General Admission
Includes Full Day Seminar
FREE

Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.

FREE Live Interactive Webcast - Moisture Prevention Design Solutions - Eastern Time Zone

Event Info

Date Thursday,
December 15, 2022
Location Online Webcast

Starting Time 08:00 AM (EST)
07:00 AM (CST)
06:00 AM (MST)
05:00 AM (PST)
04:00 AM (AKDT)
02:00 AM (HST)
Program End 12:35 PM (EST)
11:35 AM (CST)
10:35 AM (MST)
9:35 AM (PST)
8:35 AM (AKDT)
06:35 AM (HST)
Credits Earned

4  AIA HSW
1  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
4  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA

Day Program*

08:00 AM

Welcome, Credits, and Certificates

08:05 AM

Principles of Below Grade Structural Waterproofing

08:05 AM - 09:05 AM

The overall emphasis of this presentation is to discuss waterproofing systems for below grade structural applications with an emphasis on foundation walls and underslab applications. This technical presentation will begin with a discussion covering the definition of waterproofing versus dampproofing, a brief history of waterproofing, and examination of the typical types of structures that require below grade waterproofing. The presentation will then discuss the design considerations that affect the selection of a waterproofing system, including water management, waterproofing location, and protection system.

  • AIA HSW # SIKA510
  • Provider: Sika Corporation
  • Presenter: Bruce Zhu
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
09:05 AM

Review of Session Code Process

09:05 AM - 09:10 AM

09:10 AM

Solving the Concrete Moisture Issue: Commercial, Environmental and Health Benefits of Impermeable Concrete and Permanent Impermeable Repair Materials

09:10 AM - 10:10 AM

This Program addresses the impact of traditional & impermeable concrete inside & outside the building envelope. It discusses methods to improve durability and consequent sustainability of all concrete applications. It discusses the concrete industries' efforts to lower the carbon footprint. It provides a solution to moisture & flooring problems as well as water and damp-proof concrete. Techniques and materials used to permanently repair concrete are discussed.

  • AIA HSW # SPGVLMGK4041
  • Provider: SPG (Specialty Products Group)
  • Bart Bergsbaken Presenter
    Long term concrete experience. Currently I sit on the Research and Engineering Board of Directors for the National Ready Mix Concrete Association. Additionally, I am on the American Concrete Institue committees for Durability, Corrosion and Nano-Technology. I have been the Technical Director for the Specialty Products Group for 10 years.
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
10:10 AM

Break

10:20 AM

Sponsor
QWEB (Quebec Wood Export Bureau) - Eli Gould

10:30 AM

Managing Condensation and Thermal Performance with Continuous Insulation

10:30 AM - 11:30 AM

Building codes and green building standards are continuing to raise the bar on energy efficiency and high performance in buildings. In wood-framed buildings designing for thermal and moisture management in wall cavities, as well as the air tightness of the building enclosure, are all core components to creating advanced building enclosures. This presentation will discuss the need for exterior insulation to manage heat transfer and reduce condensation in exterior walls by providing step-by-step examples of how to determine the amount of continuous insulation required to meet prescriptive code requirements depending on climate zone.

  • AIA HSW # HEW 503.1
  • Provider: Huber Engineered Woods
  • Presenter: Curtis Bolton
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
11:30 AM

Moisture Management in Tiled Showers

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Leaks and mold continue to pose serious problems for the construction industry. This seminar will

compare traditional waterproofing systems with modern waterproofing technology to show how tiled

showers have evolved. The fundamentals of both approaches, including proper design, execution,

and function will be presented, with close attention paid to common errors, as well. The benefits of

bonded waterproofing technology and how it has improved tiled showers will be stressed.

  • AIA HSW # SCHL7A | GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC) # 920007665
  • Provider: Schluter Systems
  • Presenter: Steve Brasington
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
12:30 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.


Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.