VOID
Early Bird Admission
FREE
FREE Admission
Full Day Webcast up to 6 credits
FREE

Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.

FREE Live Interactive Webcast - Continuing Education Seminar for Architects & LEED Professionals

Event Info

Date Thursday,
October 1, 2020
Location Online Webcast

Starting Time 09:45 AM (EDT)
08:45 AM (CDT)
07:45 AM (MDT)
06:45 AM (PDT)
05:45 AM (AKDT)
04:45 AM (HADT)
Program End 05:10 PM (EDT)
04:10 PM (CDT)
03:10 PM (MDT)
02:10 PM (PDT)
01:10 PM (AKDT)
12:10 PM (HADT)
Credits Earned

6  AIA HSW
3  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
1  IDCEC
2  AIBC Core LU
2  AAA Structured LU
1  AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP)
6  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA

Day Program*

07:45 AM

Welcome, certificate & credit reporting instructions

08:10 AM

Specifications Strategies to Eliminate Concrete Moisture

08:10 AM - 09:10 AM

In many projects, installation of floor finishes is one of the items to occur prior to substantial completion.  However, 09 flooring specification sections require moisture testing before flooring can be installed on concrete slabs.  When those moisture tests fail, the project faces time delays, unexpected costs, or both.  During this presentation, we will:  (1) give significant discussion to the importance of design intent and how losing focus on what the owner expects can lead to catastrophic, consequences (2) examine several misconceptions associated with field moisture testing and project owner and design team liablility associated with concrete moisture induces flooring failure; and (3) we will give clear recommendations as to how the specifying professional can eliminate concrete moisture as a project delivery issue while simultaneously protecting the project owner and design team from project delivery delays/cost overruns and future failed flooring.

  • AIA HSW # ISL03H
  • Provider: ISE Logik
  • Presenter: Dean Craft
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 IDCEC, 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
09:10 AM

Working through the details: Storefront Vs. Curtain Wall

09:10 AM - 10:10 AM

This course will explain the differences between storefront and curtain wall designs and functions while exploring the areas of performance, cost, and applications. This session will allow the participant to discover new materials and methods, reinforcing the design intent while enhancing the architectural viewpoint.

  • AIA HSW # KRH-1 | USGBC # 920010541
  • Provider: Arcadia
  • Presenter: Ken Martinek
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
10:10 AM

Break

10:30 AM

Building Barrier-free Showers

10:30 AM - 11:30 AM

Mandated requirements for ADA compliancy and demand from an aging population, is creating a

growing need for barrier-free bathrooms. Today’s ADA compliant bathroom no longer has to be utilitarian

or “institutional” in its design. Design options are enhanced through the use of tile and innovative

construction methods. The result is beautiful bathrooms that also adhere to ADA standards for

accessible design.

This seminar will examine ways in which barrier-free environments can be customized to include

various design elements while remaining ADA compliant. This seminar will also address why bonded

waterproofing technology lends itself to the construction requirements of barrier-free design.

  • AIA HSW # SCHL11A | USGBC # 920014972
  • Provider: Schluter Systems
  • Presenter: Brian Moffitt
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
11:30 AM

Sintered Compact Surfaces Basics: Design, Application & Sustainability - Neolith01

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Materials used on exterior and interior surfaces need to withstand many elements, including water, scratched, high temperatures, UV, wind, etc. Choosing a material is certainly influenced by the ability to hold up over time but also by the available size and weight, maintenance, hygiene, bending properties, recyclability, VOC, not to mention the appearance and efficient and cost-effective installation. There is one new product category that will be the focus of this course, namely Sintered Compact Surfaces that can be used for a wide variety of application interior and exterior from countertops to curtain walls applications in both residential and commercial buildings.

  • AIA HSW # Basics2020 | USGBC # 920013572
  • Provider: TheSize Surfaces USA LLC
  • Presenter: Chanler Kyriacou
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
12:30 PM

Lunch

01:10 PM

Privacy Partitions in Today's Commercial Restroom

01:10 PM - 02:10 PM

In this program, we explore the current trends and issues changing the way we design restrooms. We’ll discuss what users want in a restroom experience, demand for increased privacy, and solutions for making your restroom the best room.

  • AIA HSW # ISP10l
  • Provider: Scranton Products
  • Presenter: John McKeon
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
02:10 PM

Understanding Wood Aesthetic Cladding and Soffit Technologies

02:10 PM - 03:10 PM

This learning unit will provide an in-depth overview of current “wood” design technologies natural and synthetic. - Identify current market “wood aesthetic” technologies - Understand the core materials of each technology - Understand the sustainable features and Life Cycle benefits for each technology based on the following criteria: Color Retention, Maintenance & Warranty - Describe the surface burning characteristics and explain how they can be specified to achieve code compliance - Installation Details - Budgetary Information

  • AIA HSW # GL2020CS
  • Provider: Hughes & Associates
  • Presenter: Yancey Hughes
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 AIBC Core LU, 1 AAA Structured LU, 1 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
03:10 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.