General Admission
Includes Full Day Seminar
$50.00

Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.

Live Interactive Webcast - ADA and Barrier Free - North America (US & Canada)

Event Info

Date Tuesday,
December 14, 2021
Location Online Webcast

Starting Time 12:00 PM (EST)
11:00 AM (CST)
10:00 AM (MST)
09:00 AM (PST)
08:00 AM (AKDT)
06:00 AM (HST)
Program End 05:31 PM (EST)
4:31 PM (CST)
3:31 PM (MST)
2:31 PM (PST)
1:31 PM (AKDT)
11:31 AM (HST)
Credits Earned

5  AIA HSW
2  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
5  ADA
2  AIBC Core LU
2  AAA Structured LU
2  AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP)
2  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA

Day Program*

12:00 PM

Welcome, certificate & credit reporting instructions

12:10 PM

2010 ADA Ch. 4 Accessible Routes

12:10 PM - 02:10 PM

This course is designed to familiarize participants with the technical provisions applicable to accessible routes as contained in Chapter 4 of the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA) Standards per the 2010 update.

  • AIA HSW # ADACH4Route
  • Provider: JC Code & Construction Consultants, Inc.
  • Presenter: John Farinelli, , CBO, MCP, CFM, FSI 1, LEED AP
  • Credits: 2 AIA HSW, 2 ADA,
02:10 PM

Break

02:20 PM

ADA Accessibility Guidelines: Detectable Warning Surfaces

02:20 PM - 03:20 PM

Detectable Warning Surfaces are surfaces designed to warn the visually impaired of hazards in the path of travel. ADA accessibility guidelines and the State of California require detectable warning surfaces at public right of way locations. This course looks at the current guidelines and regulations in place regarding detectable warning surfaces, as well as the different types of surface systems and installation methods.

  • AIA HSW # #2
  • Provider: ADA Solutions, A Division of SureWerx USA Inc.
  • Presenter: John Stieby
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 ADA,
03:20 PM

Break

03:30 PM

Integrating Accessibility (2 hours - 2 ADA Credits)

03:30 PM - 05:30 PM

This 2-hour webinar will help architects improve their designs by learning strategies for incorporating access early in the planning phase. By applying ADA-compliant solutions that exceed the minimum standards without adding additional costs, architects can avoid costly after-the-fact resolutions and protect themselves from potential access-related complaints or litigation.

  • AIA HSW # ADA0170 | USGBC # 920024235
  • Provider: Accessology
  • Kristi Avalos Presenter
    Kristi Avalos is a nationally renowned leader in providing accessibility-related services and is a sought-after speaker with a knack for using an upbeat approach to help others understand the complexities of compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). With over 40 years of experience, she provides expert witnessing on ADA, 504, Federal Housing Administration, and Air Carrier Access Act legal cases. In 1990 Kristi founded Accessology Too, LLC which is a national leader in providing accessibility consulting services and is one of the largest U.S. firms dedicated solely to accessibility and access issues. Since its founding, Accessology has worked closely with the Department of Justice and the U.S. Access Board to remain knowledgeable and adept with the constant changes that occur regarding ADA guidelines. Accessology has worked on numerous multi‐million-dollar projects to impact accessibility compliance during all stages from schematics to construction and final inspections. Since 2005 Accessology has specialized in the development, execution, and monitoring of the required ADA Transition Plans for Title II entities to help them avoid access-related litigation since so much litigation is tied to not having a Transition Plan on file. Kristi Avalos and her team at Accessology are committed to removing structural and attitudinal barriers that adversely impact people with disabilities.
  • Credits: 2 AIA HSW, 2 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 2 ADA, 2 AIBC Core LU, 2 AAA Structured LU, 2 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 2 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
05:30 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.