General Admission
5 ADA Credits
$45.00

Additional Information

[email protected]

Attention AIA Members - You can only take a course once in its lifespan (3 years) - Members may repeat a course, but no additional credit will be awarded.

Live Interactive Webcast - ADA and Barrier Free

Event Info

Date Tuesday,
June 1, 2021
Location Online Webcast

Starting Time 01:00 PM (EDT)
12:00 PM (CDT)
11:00 AM (MDT)
10:00 AM (PDT)
09:00 AM (AKDT)
08:00 AM (HADT)
Program End 06:20 PM (EDT)
05:20 PM (CDT)
04:20 PM (MDT)
03:20 PM (PDT)
02:20 PM (AKDT)
01:20 PM (HADT)
Credits Earned

5  AIA HSW
5  GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC)
2  ADA
4  AIBC Core LU
4  AAA Structured LU
4  AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP)
5  OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA

Day Program*

01:00 PM

Welcome, certificate & credit reporting instructions

01:10 PM

Interpreting The 2010 ADA, Ch. 3, Building Blocks (2 hours - 2 ADA Credits)

01:10 PM - 03:10 PM

This 3-part course focused on the 2010 Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Standards for Accessible Design.

  • AIA HSW # ADAch3BB | USGBC # 920024237
  • Provider: JC Code & Construction Consultants, Inc.
  • Presenter: John Farinelli
  • Credits: 2 AIA HSW, 2 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 2 AIBC Core LU, 2 AAA Structured LU, 2 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 2 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
03:10 PM

Break

03:20 PM

ADA and ANSI A117.1 Design Standards for Vertical Platform Lifts (1 hours - 1 ADA credits)

03:20 PM - 04:20 PM

This course focuses on ADA and ANSI A117.1 code limitations and accessibility code requirements for vertical platform lifts, incline platform lifts and limited use/limited application (LU/LA) elevators

  • AIA HSW # AIASAV202 | USGBC # 920010271
  • Provider: Savaria
  • Presenter: Christopher Baker
  • Credits: 1 AIA HSW, 1 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 1 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
04:20 PM

Integrating Accessibility (2 hours - 2 ADA Credits)

04:20 PM - 06:20 PM

This 2-hour webinar will help architects improve their designs by learning strategies for incorporating access early in the planning phase. By applying ADA-compliant solutions that exceed the minimum standards without adding additional costs, architects can avoid costly after-the-fact resolutions and protect themselves from potential access-related complaints or litigation.

  • AIA HSW # ADA0170 | USGBC # 920024235
  • Provider: Accessology
  • Kristi Avalos Presenter
    Kristi Avalos is a nationally renowned leader in providing accessibility-related services and is a sought-after speaker with a knack for using an upbeat approach to help others understand the complexities of compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). With over 40 years of experience, she provides expert witnessing on ADA, 504, Federal Housing Administration, and Air Carrier Access Act legal cases. In 1990 Kristi founded Accessology Too, LLC which is a national leader in providing accessibility consulting services and is one of the largest U.S. firms dedicated solely to accessibility and access issues. Since its founding, Accessology has worked closely with the Department of Justice and the U.S. Access Board to remain knowledgeable and adept with the constant changes that occur regarding ADA guidelines. Accessology has worked on numerous multi‐million-dollar projects to impact accessibility compliance during all stages from schematics to construction and final inspections. Since 2005 Accessology has specialized in the development, execution, and monitoring of the required ADA Transition Plans for Title II entities to help them avoid access-related litigation since so much litigation is tied to not having a Transition Plan on file. Kristi Avalos and her team at Accessology are committed to removing structural and attitudinal barriers that adversely impact people with disabilities.
  • Credits: 2 AIA HSW, 2 GBCI (USGBC/CAGBC), 2 ADA, 2 AIBC Core LU, 2 AAA Structured LU, 2 AANB, NSAA, ALBNL (EPP), 2 OAA, OAQ, SAA, MAA, AAPEI, NWTAA,
06:20 PM

End


  Download program   Add to Google Calendar/iCal

*This Agenda is final but is subject to updates, additions and changes.